Advanced Materials & Processes

SEP 2012

Covers developments in engineering materials selection, processing, fabrication, testing/characterization, materials engineering trends, and emerging technologies, industrial and consumer applications, as well as business and management trends

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 59 of 74

HIGHLIGHTS...2013 Fellow Nominations steels. This work has been both funda- mental and applied and has led to a significant improvement in our under- standing welding metallurgy. Mr. William J. Lenling President Thermal Spray Technologies, Sun Prairie, Wisc. For entrepreneurship and technical leader- ship in the implementation of functional thermal spray coating to enhance materi- als performance and extend component lifetimes. Dr. Bernard Q. Li Sr. Principal Materials Engineer Technical Fellow Medtronic, Minneapolis, Minn. For distinguished ma- terials science contri- butions to medical device applications. Dr. Stanley Peter Lynch Principal Research Scientist Defense Science and Technology Organization, Melbourne, Australia For outstanding contributions to under- standing fundamental aspects of envi- ronmentally assisted cracking, especially using metallographic and fractographic techniques, and for using such under- standing for failure-analysis and preven- tion activities in a wide variety of materials. Mr. Ajay P. Malshe Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. For the invention, development, and commercialization of the world's first nano-particle composite coating of super-hard cubic boron nitride (cBN) for cutting tools and wear resistance appli- cations, as well as various nanomanufac- turing processes and lubricants. Dr. Tatsuki Ohji Prime Senior Research Scientist National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan For the in-depth investi- gation of mechanical and functional proper- ties of advanced ceramics, ceramic composites, and porous materials and their microstructures, and the development of new and novel advanced ceramic materials. Dr. Triplicane A. Parthasarathy Materials Research Scientist UES Inc., Dayton, Ohio For distinguished con- tributions to the field of computational materials engineering. Dr. Janet M. Sater Research Staff Member Institute for Defense Analyses, Alexandria, Va. For outstanding tech- nical contributions to Department of Defense metal-matrix composite and morphing-materials programs. Ms. Julie M. Schoenung Professor University of California, Davis For distinguished con- tributions to processing and characterization of nanocomposite materials and to green en- gineering and design. Dr. Oscar Marcelo Suarez Associate Professor University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez, Mayaguez, P.R. For contributions to nucleation phenom- ena in cast iron, and the development of industrial methods to produce graphitic irons. Dr. George J. Theus President Metallurgical Engineering Ltd., Aurora, Ill. For outstanding con- tributions to the nu- clear energy industry and the fields of corrosion, materials en- gineering, reliability, and failure analysis. Prof. Armelle Vardelle Professor University of Limoges, France For important ad- vances in both model- ing and diagnostics of thermal spray processes, including two- and three-dimensional aspects. Dr. Qigui Wang Materials Technical Specialist General Motors Co., Pontiac, Mich. For distinguished and sustained contributions to the applied and theo- retical understanding of fracture and fa- tigue of castings, and pioneering development of computational models linking processing, microstructure and properties in aluminum automotive pow- ertrain components. Nomination Deadline for the 2013 Class of Fellows is Fast Approaching! The honor of Fellow of the society was established to provide recognition to members for distinguished contributions in the field of materials science and en- gineering, and to develop a broadly based forum for technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the Society. Criteria for the Fellow award are: outstanding ac- complishments in materials science or engineering; broad and productive achievement in production, man- ufacturing, management, design, development, re- search or education; and five years current continuous membership Deadline for nominations for the class of 2013 is November 30, 2012. Complete information including the rules, interpre- tive comments, and user-friendly online nomination forms are available on the ASM website at http://www. award-nominations/, or by contacting Christine Hoover at tel: 440/338-5151, ext. 5509; email: christine.hoover ADVANCED MATERIALS & PROCESSES • SEPTEMBER 2012 55 ASMnews

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Advanced Materials & Processes - SEP 2012