Advanced Materials & Processes

NOV-DEC 2013

Covers developments in engineering materials selection, processing, fabrication, testing/characterization, materials engineering trends, and emerging technologies, industrial and consumer applications, as well as business and management trends

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 79 of 92

ASMnews ® ASM Affiliate Societies Announce New Officers and Board Members Jones Clements Kowalski Mashl Oakes Xia Sigelko Birt Blackwell Saenz Frafjord Rollings Arner Joyce Covert Lucas In accordance with their Rules of Governance, three ASM Affiliate Societies have completed their elections for officers and board members for 2013. Please join us in welcoming the following appointments. ASM Heat Treating Society Roger A. Jones, corporate president, Solar Atmospheres Inc., succeeds as president of HTS, while Thomas E. Clements, engineering manager, Metals and Thermal Processes, Caterpillar Inc., remains on the board as immediate past president. Stephen G. Kowalski, president, Kowalski Heat Treating Co., is elected vice president. Officers serve a two-year term. In addition, the following were elected to the HTS board for a three-year term: Stephen J. Mashl, FASM, research professor, Michigan Technological University; James P. Oakes, vice president business development, Super Systems Inc.; and Jin Xia, chief of materials engineering, Timken Co. Jeff D. Sigelko, metallurgical engineer, AAM, was appointed young professional board member and Aaron M. Birt, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, was appointed student board member. Both appointments are for one year. International Metallographic Society Richard Blackwell, FASM, general manager, Buehler Canada, succeeds as president of IMS, while Natalio T. Saenz, technologist, Pacific Northwest National Lab, remains on the board as immediate past president. Jaret J. Frafjord, technical director, IMR KHA Portland, is elected vice president. David Rollings, consultant, was reelected finance officer and Judith L. Arner, senior metallographer, Struers Inc., was reelected Secretary. Officers serve a two-year term. Brian J. Joyce, director USA Sales, Buehler, was elected a director for four years. Michael Covert, senior metallographer, Ellwood Group, and Gabriel M. Lucas, metallographer, Scot Forge Co., were reelected directors for four years. ASM Thermal Spray Society The TSS electorate reelected three members to the board; and the TSS Executive Committee reappointed two student board members and a liaison to the board. See page 2 of iTSSe in this issue for the full story. this issue 77 Affiliate Societies' New Leaders 80 MS&T'13 Highlights 78 Call for ASM Nominations 82 Members in the News 79 100th Anniversary Gala 83 Chapter News Submit news of ASM and its members, chapters, and affiliate societies to Joanne Miller, editor, ASM News • ASM International, 9639 Kinsman Road, Materials Park, OH 44073 tel: 440/338-5151, ext. 5662 fax: 440/338-4634 e-mail: Contact ASM International at 9639 Kinsman Road, Materials Park, OH 44073 tel: 440/338-5151, ext. 0, or 800/336-5152, ext. 0 (toll free in U.S. and Canada) fax: 440/338-4634 e-mail: website: ADVANCED MATERIALS & PROCESSES • NOVEMBER-DECEMBER 2013 77

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Advanced Materials & Processes - NOV-DEC 2013